Chinatown and Why Your Blood is Who You Are

On Sunday we did something we had been meaning to do for a good while. No, not ride a Unicorn – that one has hit a bit of a snag. What we actually did was visit Yokohama’s Chinatown, purported to be the largest in Asia. The timing couldn’t have been better really, what with the Chinese New Year and all.

The journey was a bit of a drag and the bay was so cold that I was worried I would lose an ear, but the place had an undeniable charm that, despite my earlier slight cynicism, did feel unique from Japan’s. We idled in a cafe and a nice little restaurant while we waited for the parade to start. We then made the classic mistake of not getting there ahead of time, and were faced with hordes of people equipped with cameras that could probably take pictures of orbiting satellites. Here are the photos (we actually saw the whole thing twice as the looping nature of the parade seemed to make it impossible for us to actually escape):

Blood is Thicker than Logic

I thought this was all a bit of fun when I first heard it, an Old Wives’ Tale if you will. In actual fact, some people in Japan do actually put a lot of stead in one’s blood group, believing it to dictate a person’s personality. Maybe this from Wikipedia will give you a good idea of the depth of belief:

“-Reconstruction Minister Ryu Matsumoto’s abrasive comments towards the Governors of Iwate and Miyagi [11] forced him to step down from his post, he partially blamed his behavior on his blood type, saying “My blood’s type B, which means I can be irritable and impetuous, and my intentions don’t always come across.”

It also mentions that in 2008, four of the top ten selling books in Japan were ones concerning blood types and how to manage them. I’m not sure what these people would make of me, having no knowledge of my blood type. I think maybe the best traits of AB, combined with the worst of B would be my closest match. Although why I would even bother classifying myself when my horoscopes are so direct and reliable…

You can find the specifics of each group here.

I just thought I would share this, as I find it exasperating and hilarious in equal measure.

Also, just a few little bits. Firstly, after doing a bit of research, it seems that a side-affect of a dry climate is that a high amount of static electricity is generated, which may go some way to explaining why I have developed a fear of door handles and human contact. I often wonder if, given I could store enough of it without discharge, I could stun people through touch much like a mutant from X-men, or more like this:

Secondly, I have a theory. This being that J-pop and K-pop producers have been watching a lot of recorded music TV from the 80s/early 90s in the belief that it is up to date. When I am in the gym and I watch some of this sugary-sweet, innocent, moist eyed, chest grabbing, slow motion self-expression tosh, I almost think all is right with the World want to abducted by aliens. They’re not even using overt sexual references to sell their music…Amateurs.

Have a better one.

Chris

4 thoughts on “Chinatown and Why Your Blood is Who You Are

  1. Ha ha, we seem to be discovering Japan at an even pace Chris. No sooner do I experience these things than you go blogging about them!

  2. Although I don’t believe in blood type difference, I have heard in China some companies will only hire people with certain astrology signs >.<

    Btw, drug stores and supermarkets in Japan sells anti-static spray. I am also very prone to static and I always have a bottle with me while traveling in Japan. =D

Leave a Reply

