The Quirky Bar

I told you a couple of posts ago about a quirky Tokyo cafe/bar that I had visited. I returned there recently, only to learn that it is soon to be closed, in favour of a larger location. I decided I had to take some pictures to give the place a permanence for me.

There is a distinct theme of nudity here, as is the case with most places that employ a hippie-chic decor. If you are in any way offended by nudity, or to be more precise, if a drawn picture of a miniature grown man crawling out of a woman’s sexual organ whilst she is masturbating would offend or disturb you (I wouldn’t really blame you), I probably wouldn’t bother looking through the photos. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

The Japanese don’t really have the same taboos attached to nudity that we do over in the West. After all, it’s part of their culture that they publicly bathe. So I think that even though it’s normal for them to dress reservedly, you won’t get them to blush or be outraged over a nude painting that could just as easily be considered art or a piece of cultural heritage. They’ll take the high road on things like that.

I apologise for the quality of the photos. I’m not one of those guys who has his camera with him at all times.

Not too much to report here. I survived my first week of Gaba and I would go as far as to say that I am actually quite enjoying it. That feels somewhat wrong, like work and fun should be mutually exclusive. Anyway, Hope all you guys are having fun/surviving.

Have a better one.

Chris

Leave a Reply

